Twisted Sister 'You Can't Stop Rock 'N' Roll' expanded with live recordings | The Music Universe

Double CD And LP Sets Will Be Available On September 14th

Twisted Sister made its Atlantic Records debut in 1983 with You Can’t Stop Rock ‘N’ Roll. The album was a turning point for the quintet and helped set the stage for their rise to fame over the coming years. Rhino revisits Twisted Sister’s early days with a newly remastered version that album, which has been expanded with rare live performances recorded in London months before the studio album was released.

Live At The Marquee 1983 – You Can’t Stop Rock ‘N’ Roll will be available on September 14th as a 2 CD set. The music will also be available digitally and streaming services. Live At The Marquee 1983 will be available as a 2 LP set on colored vinyl starting August 10th as a part Record Store Day Craw and will be available exclusively at all independent retailers in advance the national release date September 14th.

After years playing clubs around New York, Twisted Sister signed with Atlantic Records and released You Can’t Stop Rock ‘N’ Roll in May 1983. The stellar album includes hard-rocking classics like the title track, “I Am (I’m Me)” and “The Kids Are Back.” Along with the album’s original tracks, this newly remastered version also features three studio bonus tracks: “One Man Woman,” “Four Barrel Heart Of Love” and “Feel The Power,” which previously appeared on the B-side the You Can’t Stop Rock ‘N’ Roll EP.

Previously released as a Rhino Handmade title, the live performances featured on the second disc were recorded in March 1983 over two nights at London’s famed Marquee Club. The songs find Twisted Sister raw, hungry and catching fire just a few months before the group achieved breakout success on radio and MTV. Mirroring the setlists from both shows, the collection’s blistering performances feature singer Dee Snider, guitarists Jay Jay French and Eddie “Fingers” Ojeda, bassist Mark “The Animal” Mendoza and drummer A.J. Pero.

The performances on Live At The Marquee 1983 are unrelenting as the band demolishes nearly every song from its debut Under the Blade, including the show opener “What You Don’t Know (Sure Can Hurt You).” Along with covers the Shangri-Las’ “Leader Of The Pack” and the Slade version the R&B staple “Let The Good Times Roll,” the album also includes the first-ever public performance “You Can’t Stop Rock ‘N’ Roll,” which would later surface on the band’s second studio album. Bits Snider’s legendary stage banter can also be heard between songs.

2 CD | 2 LP

CD 1:

1. The Kids Are Back
2. Like A Knife In The Back
3. Ride To Live, Live To Ride
4. I Am (I’m Me)
5. The Power And The Glory
6. We’re Gonna Make It
7. I’ve Had Enough
8. I’ll Take You Alive
9. You’re Not Alone (Suzette’s Song)
10. You Can’t Stop Rock ‘N’ Roll
11. One Man Woman Bonus Track]
12. Four Barrel Heart Of Love Bonus Track]
13. Feel The Power Bonus Track]

CD 2:

1. What You Don’t Know (Sure Can Hurt You)
2. Sin After Sin
3. Bad Boys (Of Rock ‘N’ Roll)
4. Destroyer
5. Leader Of The Pack
6. Tear It Loose
7. Band Rap
8. You Can’t Stop Rock ‘N’ Roll
9. Run For Your Life
10. Shoot ‘Em Down
11. Dee’s Rap
12. It’s Only Rock ‘N’ Roll (But I Like It)
13. Band Introductions
14. I Am (I’m Me)
15. Under The Blade
16. Let The Good Times Roll