Rod Stewart releasing Valentine's Day playlist | The Music Universe

Sixteen track love-themed playlist available Feb 12th

Rod Stewart is releasing Cupid, a new love-themed digital playlist available February 12th via Rhino Records. The 16-track collection mixes some of his best-known love songs with five rarities that have never been available digitally until now. In celebration of the release, a new Valentine’s Day-themed Instagram filter with audio from the song “Cupid” will make its debut, along with a new lyric video.

“I’ve always been a hopeless romantic, and this list is perfect for that candlelit date night,” says Stewart. “No need to be a DJ, just press play and focus on your lover.”

Cupid sets the mood with indelible songs like “Tonight’s The Night (Gonna Be Alright)” and “The First Cut Is The Deepest,” both from Stewart’s multi-platinum 1976 album, A Night On The Town (1976). That prolific era is revisited for “You’re In My Heart (The Final Acclaim)” from the 1977 follow-up, Footloose & Fancy Free, the singer’s second multi-platinum solo album. Meanwhile, the collection’s title track, “Cupid,” is a bonus track taken from the 2009 expanded edition of Stewart’s 19th studio album, Human from 2001.

The playlist marks the digital debut for several songs, including two B-sides: “Love In The Right Hands,” which accompanied the unplugged version of “Reason To Believe” in 1993, and “One Night,” which was the flip side to “Have I Told You Lately.”

The playlist taps two of Stewart’s best-loved film contributions with the Top 10 US hit, “Love Touch” from Legal Eagles and the No. 3 US hit “Faith Of The Heart” from the Patch Adams soundtrack; the latter is making its digital debut. A number of songs on the playlist spotlight music the singer released during the 1990s, including the Top 40 hit “This” from A Spanner In The Works, “For The First Time” from the platinum-certified If We Fall In Love Tonight, and his tender cover of Van Morrison’s “Have I Told You Lately” from the platinum-certified Vagabond Heart.

One of the most talented singers in rock and pop music, Stewart has sold more than 250 million records worldwide during a stellar career that includes nine No. 1 albums and 26 Top 10 singles in the UK; plus 17 Top 10 albums and 16 Top 10 singles in the US.

1. Cupid
2. Have I Told You Lately
3. Faith Of The Heart [Digital Debut]
4. Love Touch
5. Tonight’s The Night (Gonna Be Alright)
6. Careless With Our Love [Digital Debut]
7. For The First Time
8. You’re In My Heart (The Final Acclaim)
9. Kiss Her For Me [Digital Debut]
10. If Only
11. The First Cut Is The Deepest
12. Love In The Right Hands [Digital Debut]
13. This
14. Run Back To Your Arms
15. Superstar
16. One Night [Digital Debut]