Performers introduced for all feminine CMT Artists of the Year | The Music Universe

Pistol Annies, Gladys Knight, Runaway June, Maddie & Tae, Kirk Franklin and extra added as performers

To proceed this yr’s celebration girls, CMT has added seven new powerhouse performances to the 2018 CMT Artists the Year lineup: Carrie Underwood with CMT Next Women Country and tour mates Maddie & Tae and Runaway June; Miranda Lambert and Pistol Annies; Kelsea Ballerini with Alison Krauss; Karen Fairchild and Kimberly Schlapman with soul legend Gladys Knight; and Hillary Scott with singer-songwriter Tori Kelly and Grammy-award profitable gospel artist Kirk Franklin. In addition, honoree Maren Morris will be part of forces with Brandi Carlile for a strong tribute to late icon Aretha Franklin. The ninth annual particular premieres reside from Nashville on Wednesday, October 17th at eight pm ET/PT, solely on CMT.

In recognition the simple affect and affect feminine artists in nation music, the 2018 CMT Artists the Year particular is devoted to the ladies nation music — previous, current and future. This yr’s all-female “Artists the Year” are Carrie Underwood, Miranda Lambert, Kelsea Ballerini, Maren Morris, Little Big Town’s Karen Fairchild and Kimberly Schlapman and Lady Antebellum’s Hillary Scott. The coveted “Artist a Lifetime” award offered by Ram Trucks will likely be given to nation music icon Loretta Lynn.

In addition to the 2018 CMT Artists the Year reside particular, CMT will additional its dedication to feminine artists by means of a day-long “Women Country Music” takeover throughout all CMT platforms the place music lives together with music hours on CMT, the 24/7 digital channel CMT Music and CMT Radio’s widely-syndicated reveals CMT Radio LIVE and CMT After Midnite to encourage and encourage elevated feminine airplay on October 17th.

A staunch advocate for nation music’s feminine artists, CMT launched its devoted “Next Women Country” marketing campaign in 2013 as a technique to give feminine artists voice and airplay throughout all CMT platforms. The franchise has obtained essential acclaim, and in 5 years since launch CMT has expanded to incorporate excursions, digital programming and extra. Ballerini and Morris are each alumnae the “Next Women” franchise.

Last yr’s particular notched its highest rankings to this point and ranked as essentially the most watched within the occasion’s eight-year historical past. More than 1.1 million followers tuned in to the premiere telecast and the encore. Socially, #CMTAOTY trended nationally on Twitter through the present and the particular ranked because the #1 Most Social Entertainment Program in Primetime on Cable.

Previous CMT Artists the Year performances have included Adele and Darius Rucker performing Lady Antebellum’s “Need You Now;” Meghan Trainor, Jill Scott and Kelsea Ballerini honoring Shania Twain with a medley her greatest hits; Jason Aldean, Keith Urban and Chris Stapleton in a shifting Tom Petty tribute with “I Won’t Back Down;” Adam Lambert and Leona Lewis paying tribute to Little Big Town’s “Girl Crush;” and Maroon 5 masking Taylor Swift’s “Mine.” The present has featured appearances by Ellen DeGeneres, Matthew McConaughey, Selena Gomez, Billy Bob Thornton, Roger Clemens, Morgan Freeman, the solid Nashville and extra.

Former CMT Artists the Year honorees embody Blake Shelton (2015), Brad Paisley (2011), Carrie Underwood (2010, 2012, 2016), Cast “Nashville” (2015), Chris Stapleton (2015, 2016, 2017), Eric Church (2012), Florida Georgia Line (2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017), Hunter Hayes (2013), Jason Aldean (2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017), Keith Urban (2017), Kelsea Ballerini (2016), Kenny Chesney (2011, 2012), Kenny Rogers (2015), Lady Antebellum (2010, 2011), Little Big Town (2015), Luke Bryan (2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017), Merle Haggard (2014), Miranda Lambert (2012, 2014), Sam Hunt (2015, 2017), Shania Twain (2016), Taylor Swift (2010, 2011), Thomas Rhett (2016), Tim McGraw (2013) and Toby Keith (2012.)