Lady Antebellum announces ‘Ocean’ | The Music Universe

Details revealed for upcoming 13 track project

After a wave change, Dave Haywood, Charles Kelley and Hillary Scott have watched the tides rise and fall, and are embracing the power vulnerability with the release Lady A’s forthcoming album Ocean, set for release on CD and LP on November 15th on BMLG Records. It marks a new beginning that brings the multi-platinum trio back to their roots, showcasing their familiar vocal interplay and individual instruments on the emotionally resonant 13 track project. Lady A chronicles personal relationships and everyday responsibilities with a balance growth and maturity that could only come from 13 years creating together. The CMA-nominated trio’s upcoming release is available now for pre-order at all digital retailers. Fans will also immediately receive a download the title-track along with previously released songs “Pictures” and their Top 15 and climbing single “What If I Never Get Over You.”

“There’s this theme returning to the core who we are — as writers, vocalists and people — that came out in each these songs,” Dave Haywood explains. “Our time in the studio with Dann had an excitement that felt like we were making our first album all over again.”

Produced by first-time collaborator Dann Huff, Ocean is full depth and despair. Moments like “Be Patient with My Love,” which Kelley co-wrote as a beautiful ode to commitment, balance raw feelings with squealing guitars. With its title-track, Scott’s bare vocal puts a bow on the album’s core reminding us life’s beauty even when we get caught in its undertow.

“It’s such a cinematic and theatrical melody with a message that became the cornerstone this record for us,” adds Scott. “Ocean is all the things that we think and feel when we hear the word. This album is immersed in life stories about barely keeping your head above water all the way to those times that make you feel like everything is smooth sailing.”

The album allows Lady A to let loose too. “You Can Do You” is a swaying live-and-let-live anthem inspired by the hustle Nashville’s crowded streets, while “Boots” combines heartland-rock crunch with Celtic fiddles. On the swirling “The Thing That Wrecks You,” the trio gets an assist from fellow country music superstars Little Big Town, who supply background vocals; its dreamy coda features the two groups’ vocals intermingling, weaving in and out one another and occasionally hovering over the gauzy guitars.


1. What If I Never Get Over You
2. Pictures
3. Crazy Love
4. You Can Do You
5. What I’m Leaving For
6. Be Patient With My Love
7. Alright
8. Let It Be Love
9. On A Night Like This
10. Boots
11. The Thing That Wrecks You feat. Little Big Town
12. Mansion
13. Ocean