Kankyō Ongaku compilation collects Japanese ‘environmental music’

The ambient and new age compilation options Haruomi Hosono, Ryuichi Sakamoto and Joe Hisaishi.

Light In The Attic has revealed particulars of the most recent installment in its ongoing Japan archival collection, the ambient and new age compilation Kankyō Ongaku.

The title interprets as ‘environmental music’, a time period used to explain the background and incidental music that was used to soundtrack “the areas, merchandise, and experiences of 1980s Japan”. This included in-store music for Japanese retailer Muji, in addition to companion music for a Sanyo Air Conditioning Unit.

The compilation options tracks from Haruomi Hosono, Ryuichi Sakamoto and Joe Hisaishi, in addition to lesser-known artists such Hiroshi Yoshimura, Yoshio Ojima and Satoshi Ashikawa, and was compiled by Visible Cloaks’ Spencer Doran. It’s the primary absolutely licensed assortment of this music, and marks the primary time that these recordings will likely be made obtainable exterior of Japan.

Okankyō Ongaku: Japanese Ambient, Environmental & New Age Music 1980-1990 arrives early subsequent 12 months and is accessible to pre-order now. The triple vinyl version of the compilation options deluxe jackets and slipcase and the double CD launch is introduced in a custom-bound hardback guide.

Check out the quilt artwork and tracklist beneath.

Kankyō Ongaku compilation collects Japanese ‘environmental music’


01. Satoshi Ashikawa – ‘Still Space’
02. Yoshio Ojima – ‘Glass Chattering’
03. Hideki Matsutake – ‘Nemureru Yoru (Karaoke Version)’
04. Ayuo Takahashi – ‘Nagareru*’
05. Joe Hisaishi – ‘Islander’
06. Yoshiaki Ochi – ‘Ear Dreamin”
07. Masashi Kitamura + Phonogenix – ‘Variation・III’
08. Interior – ‘Park’
09. Yoichiro Yoshikawa – ‘Nube’
10. Yoshio Suzuki – ‘Meet Me In The Sheep Meadow’
11. Ryuichi Sakamoto – ‘Dolphins’*
12. Toshi Tsuchitori – ‘Ishiura (Abridged)’
13. Shiho Yabuki – ‘Tomoshibi (abridged)’
14. Toshifumi Hinata – ‘Chaconne’
15. Yasuaki Shimizu – ‘Seiko three’
16. Inoyama Land – ‘Apple Star’
17. Hiroshi Yoshimura – ‘Blink’
18. Fumio Miyashita – ‘See the Light (abridged)’
19. Akira Ito – ‘Praying For Mother / Earth Part 1’
20. Jun Fukamachi – ‘Breathing New Life’
21. Takashi Toyoda – ‘Snow’
22. Yellow Magic Orchestra – ‘Loom’
23. Takashi Kokubo – ‘A Dream Sails Out To Sea – Scene three’
24. Masahiro Sugaya – ‘Umi No Sunatsubu’
25. Haruomi Hosono – ‘Original BGM’

*LP solely

Read subsequent: Another Green World- How Japanese ambient music discovered a brand new viewers