Jennifer Lopez, Ella Mai, Twenty One Pilots added as AMA performers | The Music Universe

AMAs are Tuesday, October ninth on ABC

The multi-faceted Jennifer Lopez, British singer/songwriter Ella Mai and rockers Twenty One Pilots have been added as performers on the 2018 American Music Awards (AMAs). The annual awards present will broadcast dwell from the Microst Theater in Los Angeles on Tuesday, October ninth at eight pm ET on ABC.

Lopez will debut a model new single from her upcoming function movie, Second Act. The movie follows Lopez’s character Maya, a 40-year-old lady fighting frustrations from unfulfilled goals. Until, that’s, she will get the possibility to show to Madison Avenue that avenue smarts are as worthwhile as e book smarts, and that it’s by no means too late for a Second Act. The new comedy, which additionally stars Leah Remini, Milo Ventimiglia and Vanessa Hudgens, hits theaters December 14th. Lopez, a previous host the present, final carried out on the American Music Awards stage in 2014.

Mai will carry out her smash hit “Boo’d Up” on the AMAs. The British artist, who simply tied the document for longest operating No. 1 track by a lady on Billboard’s R&B/Hip-Hop Airplay chart, may also ship an encore efficiency “Trip” for Comcast’s Xfinity TV clients completely on Xfinity On Demand instantly following the telecast.

Rock duo, Twenty One Pilots, will return to the AMAs stage to ship a YouTube Music Moment. The band will deal with followers to their different/indie monitor “Jumpsuit,” which peaked at No. 1 on Billboard’s Alternative Songs chart and is the fastest-rising track to succeed in No. 1 on the Alternative Songs chart because the 2009 and garnered the highest spot on the Rock Airplay chart. “Jumpsuit” is the primary single from the band’s extremely anticipated fifth studio album, Trench, out there now.

Each performer joins beforehand introduced performers Benny Blanco with Halsey and Khalid, Camila Cabello, Cardi B that includes Bad Bunny and J Balvin, Mariah Carey, Ciara that includes Missy Elliott, Dua Lipa, Shawn Mendes with Zedd, Panic! At The Disco, Post Malone that includes Ty Dolla $ign, Taylor Swift and Carrie Underwood, in addition to a particular tribute to the Queen Soul, Aretha Franklin.

Nominations had been introduced earlier final month with Cardi B and Drake main the pack, with eight doable wins every. Ed Sheeran and Post Malone every earned six nominations. Camila Cabello, nominated 5 occasions this yr, might win her first AMA as a solo artist. Drake, Imagine Dragons, Post Malone, Ed Sheeran, and Taylor Swift are all up for Artist the Year.

The American Music Awards, the world’s largest fan-voted awards present, is the place music fans watch their favourite artists and popular culture icons come collectively to honor idols, newcomers and record-breakers within the up to date music scene. From Pop and Rock, to Country, Hip Hop and past, this yr’s present will have a good time some one of the best moments in music with appearances by right now’s brightest stars and dwell performances from the largest names within the business.

American Music Awards nominees are based mostly on key fan interactions as mirrored on, together with streaming, album and digital track gross sales, radio airplay, social exercise and touring. These measurements are tracked by Billboard and its knowledge companions, together with Nielsen Music and Next Big Sound, and mirror the time interval September 15, 2017 by means of August 9, 2018. The American Music Awards winners are voted totally by followers.

Voting is now open in all classes. For New Artist the Year introduced by Capital One Savor Card, Favorite Social Artist and Collaboration the Year, followers can vote for every award 100 occasions per day, per voting platform in a single or each the methods under. Fans can vote for all different awards as soon as per day, per voting platform.

  • Via net at
  • Posting a tweet on Twitter that features the nominee’s identify or Twitter deal with, the class identify and #AMAs inside the tweet

Voting for New Artist the Year introduced by Capital One Savor Card and Collaboration the Year will shut on Tuesday, October ninth at 5:59:59 pm PT, one hour into the dwell broadcast. Voting for all different classes is now closed.