Janet Jackson releases ‘Rhythm Nation 1814’ remix digital mini albums | The Music Universe

A&M/UMe and Janet Jackson are proud to announce the release Rhythm Nation 1814: The Remixes, which are available across digital platforms for the first time. The digital-only reissues these nine historic remix mini-albums honor the 30th anniversary one Ms. Jackson’s most successful albums, Rhythm Nation 1814. Released on September 19, 1989, Rhythm Nation 1814 ultimately went 12x platinum worldwide and spawned seven Top 5 hits on the Billboard Hot 100 singles chart.

Tracks across the nine original mini-albums were initially issued around the world during Rhythm Nation 1814’s impressive 1989-90 reign, various 12″ and 7″ vinyl releases and CD singles, including a series CD maxi-singles in Japan.

Three highly sought-after non-LP tracks that were previously available on rare single releases only are also included with Rhythm Nation 1814: The Remixes: “The Skin Game,” “You Need Me,” and “The 1814 Megamix.” “The Skin Game” appears two separate track entries labeled Part I and Part II, the latter which is the instrumental version the song.

The mini-albums consist 90 tracks in total, with almost 84 them being the inventive, genre-spanning remixes done by the most respected producers and remixers the day.

Shep Pettibone (Madonna, Pet Shop Boys) lent his magic touch to a score remixes for “Alright” (a number them featuring rapper Heavy D), “Escapade,” “Love Will Never Do (Without You),” “Miss You Much,” “Rhythm Nation,” and “State Of The World.” Meanwhile, original Rhythm Nation 1814 album producers Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis supervised some the remixes done for “Black Cat,” in addition to laying down some remixes their own for “Come Back To Me” (including two Spanish versions) and “Miss You Much.”

The always ferocious “Black Cat” saw remixes from Vaughn Halyard as supervised by both Jellybean Johnson and the aforementioned Jam and Lewis tandem, as well as additional production and remixing duties by CJ Mackintosh and David Dorrell. Mackintosh and Dorrell also contributed three exceptionally rare 12” mixes for “Escapade,” while Mackintosh solely contributed the “Love Will Never Do (Without You) – U.K. Funky 7” Mix.” Finally, Junior Vasquez (Whitney Houston, Britney Spears) forged a number the “State Of The World” remixes alongside those done by Pettibone.

Jackson has had quite an eventful year already. Not only was this singular visionary artist inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall Fame’s distinguished Class 2019, but she also recently wrapped up three phases her highly acclaimed and evocatively dubbed Metamorphosis residency at Park Theater at Park MGM. Jackson also made her live debut at the Glastonbury Festival 2019 in June, and she recently announced a number live dates for her special #RN30 anniversary tour. Additionally, a half-dozen key entries in her acclaimed studio-album canon – Control, Control: The Remixes, Rhythm Nation 1814, janet., The Velvet Rope, All For You – were all reissued this year in standard black vinyl and special, limited edition color and picture disc vinyl.

Having sold over 180 million albums worldwide to date, Janet Jackson has long proven herself to be a liberated and noteworthy artist, one who ultimately emerged as a global superstar and a model for independent women everywhere. As the saying goes, we are part the Rhythm Nation, and each these nine digital remix mini-albums serve to remind us just how much Janet Jackson’s inherent knack for fusing together a variety musical styles had been taken to even newer heights, thanks to the combined talents many a gifted remixer.

Alright: The Remixes

1. Alright – 7″ Remix Featuring Heavy D
2. Alright – 7″ R&B Mix Featuring Heavy D
3. Alright – 7″ House Mix
4. Alright – 7″ House Mix Featuring Heavy D
5. Alright – 12″ R&B Mix Featuring Heavy D
6. Alright – 12″ House Mix Featuring Heavy D
7. Alright – House Dub
8. Alright – LP Version

Black Cat: The Remixes

1. Black Cat – Video Mix / Short Solo
2. Black Cat – Video Mix / Long Solo
3. Black Cat – LP Version
4. Black Cat – Featuring Vernon Reid
5. Black Cat – “3 Snaps Up” 7″
6. Black Cat – Funky 7″
7. Black Cat – “3 Snaps Up” 12″
8. Black Cat – Funky 12″
9. Black Cat – “3 Snaps Up” Dub

Come Back To Me: The Remixes

1. Come Back To Me – 7″ I’m Begging You Mix
2. Come Back To Me – I’m Begging You Mix 12″
3. Vuelve A Mi (Come Back To Me Spanish)
4. Come Back To Me – The Abandoned Heart Mix
5. Come Back To Me – LP Version
6. Come Back To Me – Instrumental
7. Vuelve A Mi (Come Back To Me Castilian)
8. The Skin Game – Part I – Non-LP Bonus Track
9. The Skin Game – Part II (Instrumental)

Escapade: The Remixes

1. Escapade – The Getaway 7″
2. Escapade – We’ve Got It Made 7″
3. Escapade – The Good Time 7″
4. Escapade – Housecapade 7”
5. Escapade – Shep’s Good Time Mix
6. Escapade – Shep’s Housecapade Mix
7. Escapade – The Getaway Dub
8. Escapade – Housecapade Dub
9. Escapade – Shep’s I Can’t Take No More Dub
10. Escapade – LP Version

Escapade: The Remixes (2)

1. Escapade – Hippiapolis Mix
2. Escapade – Hippiapolis In Dub
3. Escapade – One Nation Under A Rhythm Mix

Love Will Never Do (Without You): The Remixes

1. Love Will Never Do (Without You) – Single Version
2. Love Will Never Do (Without You) – Work It Out 7″ With Intro
3. Love Will Never Do (Without You) – U.K. Funky 7″
4. Love Will Never Do (Without You) – The Love 7″
5. Love Will Never Do (Without You) – Work It Out 7″
6. Love Will Never Do (Without You) – Shep’s Work It Out Mix
7. Love Will Never Do (Without You) – U.K. Funky Mix – CJ Mackintosh
8. Love Will Never Do (Without You) – Shep’s Love Mix
9. Love Will Never Do (Without You) – The Work It Out Dub
10. Love Will Never Do (Without You) – The Love Dub
11. Love Will Never Do (Without You) – Shep’s Original 7″
12. Love Will Never Do (Without You) – Acapella
13. The 1814 Megamix – Full Version (Alright/Escapade/Rhythm Nation/Miss You Much/Black Cat)
14. You Need Me – Non-LP Bonus Track

Miss You Much: The Remixes

1. Miss You Much – 7″ Edit
2. Miss You Much – Mama Mix
3. Miss You Much – Slammin’ R&B Mix
4. Miss You Much – Shep’s House Mix
5. Miss You Much – Shep’s House Dub
6. Miss You Much – Slammin’ Dub
7. Miss You Much – 7″ R&B Mix
8. Miss You Much – 7″ House Mix
9. Miss You Much – 7″ Slammin’ R&B Mix
10. Miss You Much – That Bass You Much Mix
11. Miss You Much – Oh I Like That Mix
12. Miss You Much – Sing It Yourself Mix
13. Miss You Much – Acapella

Rhythm Nation: The Remixes

1. Rhythm Nation – 7″ Edit
2. Rhythm Nation – 12″ United Mix
3. Rhythm Nation – 12″ House Nation Mix
4. Rhythm Nation – House Nation Groove
5. Rhythm Nation – 12″ United Dub
6. Rhythm Nation – 7″ CHR Remix
7. Rhythm Nation – 7″ United Mix Edit
8. Rhythm Nation – 7″ House Nation Edit
9. Rhythm Nation – LP Version
10. Rhythm Nation – 7″ Instrumental
11. Rhythm Nation – Rhythm Mix

State Of The World: The Remixes

1. State Of The World – United Nations 7″
2. State Of The World – State Of The House 7″
3. State Of The World – Third World 7″
4. State Of The World – LP Version
5. State Of The World – State Of The House 12″
6. State Of The World – United Nations 12″
7. State Of The World – United Nations Dub
8. State Of The World – United Nations Instrumental
9. State Of The World – Third World Dub
10. State Of The World – Third World Instrumental
11. State Of The World – Make A Change Dub
12. State Of The World – World Dance Mix
13. State Of The World – State Of The World Suite