Demdike Stare re-imagine UK membership sounds on new double LP Passion

The Modern Love mainstays ship their angular tackle dancehall, jungle and UKG.

Experimental digital duo Demdike Stare have launched Passion, a nine-track LP that builds upon the dancefloor-orientated productions of 2016’s Wonderland.

The album sees Sean Canty and Miles Whittaker channel their uniquely occult sound via 9 esoteric membership ragers, delivering weaponized interpretations of dancehall, jungle, storage and dirt.

The LP is a continuation of the duo’s rave-ready Testpressing sequence, transferring from scorching hardcore on ‘At It Again’, mutant grime on ‘Know Where To Start’, earlier than closing the LP with the haunting ‘Dilation’.

The cowl artwork is taken from the duo’s audiovisual collaboration with visible artist and filmmaker Michael England, a hybrid portrait taken from documentary footage filmed at MikeQ’s home of vogue.

Since the discharge of Wonderland, Canty and Whittaker have curated a gradual stream of important releases on their DDS label, together with tasks from Shinichi Atobe, Mica Levi and Equiknoxx.

Passion is offered digitally and on double vinyl LP Modern Love now. Check out the Michael England-designed cowl artwork and tracklist under.

Demdike Stare re-imagine UK club sounds on new double LP Passion


01. ‘New Fakes’
02. ‘At It Again’
03. ‘Spitting Brass’
04. ‘Caps Have Gone’
05. ‘Know Where To Start’
06. ‘You People Are Fucked’
07. ‘Pile Up’
08. ‘Cracked’
09. ‘Dilation’

Read subsequent: The Essential… Modern Love