Country Music Hall of Fame announces 2020 American Currents exhibit | The Music Universe

American Currents: The State the Music opens March 6th

The Country Music Hall Fame and Museum will fer insight into country music’s latest chapter with the opening its first exhibition 2020, American Currents: State the Music, on Friday, March 6th. The exhibit runs through February 7, 2021.

Now an annual fering, American Currents: State the Music represents the ongoing research, analysis, vigorous debate, and yes, even argument, among curators and museum staff to determine the most important developments in country music over the previous year.

“Each year brings new components to the country music story, and 2019 was no different,” states Kyle Young, CEO, Country Music Hall Fame and Museum. “Last year, we witnessed unprecedented collaborations, record-breaking chart success and the continued evolution the genre, reaching a broader audience. American Currents allows us to highlight these moments and share their significance in country music history.”

Those featured in American Currents: State the Music are artists, musicians and songwriters who have shaped today’s country music story. Those included in this year’s exhibition are: Jason Aldean, Kelsea Ballerini, Blanco Brown, Brandi Carlile, Eric Church, Luke Combs, Billy Ray Cyrus, Jenee Fleenor, Florida Georgia Line, Country Music Hall Fame member Tom T. Hall, The Highwomen, Lil Nas X, Hillary Lindsey, Maren Morris, Kacey Musgraves, John Prine, Chris Stapleton, Tanya Tucker, Carrie Underwood and Morgan Wallen.

The exhibit also features the Unbroken Circle, which illustrates the connection between country music’s past, present and future by sharing the stories today’s artists and those who have influenced them. Included in this part the exhibit are Erin Enderlin and Country Music Hall Fame member Reba McEntire; Cody Johnson and Chris LeDoux; Billy Strings and Jerry Douglas; Tenille Townes and Patty Griffin; and Yola and Country Music Hall Fame member Dolly Parton.